New power station in Balsall Heath

19/04/2010 at 3:41 pm | Posted in Solar power | Leave a comment
Tags:

The small number of roofs with solar panels that are able to generate electricity in Balsall Heath will increase by one on 4th May. This is the day they will be installed on my house, John Newson in Alder Road. There will be 7 panels on the south-facing roof, generating over 1 kilo watt, when it is full daylight (whatever the temperature), more electricity than I am usually using. You are welcome to look from the street.

The electricity will go first into my house circuit, if any appliances are switched on. All surplus will go into the local network to power any demand from the neighbourhood. Over 1,000 kilowatt hours per year will be produced, more than I use, so the house will become a small power station.

I shall receive the ‘feed in tariff’ or ‘clean energy cashback’, plus a small amount for any power exported, plus the savings from the electric units I would have had to buy. About £600 a year in all.

The cost was £8,000, less a government grant of £2,500. To get the grant I had to show that my house was already energy effiicent in other ways. This grant is no longer available, but prices are falling. I think my house is a lot more valuable as a power station, than when it was an ordinary house. It will go onto the house’s Energy Performance Certificate, if I should put it on the market This feels like a safe investment with a good return, compared to keeping money in the bank.

It is good to become part of the solution, of to how we are to make clean power that doesn’t add to the invisible ‘greenhouse gases’ in the air, by using the sun that falls on our buildings. It isn’t the whole answer (especially at night!) but may be a peice of the answer.

I have produced an information sheet called ‘Using Solar Power at Home’ ; email me for a copy at BHIOP[at]jericho.org.uk

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

